Supreme Court of Canada

Supreme Court of Canada

The Supreme Court of Canada is the final court of appeal from all other Canadian courts. The Supreme Court has jurisdiction over disputes in all areas of the law, including constitutional law, administrative law, criminal law and civil law.

The court consists of a Chief Justice and eight other judges, all appointed by the federal government. The Supreme Court Act requires that at least three judges must come from Quebec. Traditionally, of the other six judges, three come from Ontario, two from Western Canada, and one from the Atlantic provinces.

The Supreme Court of Canada also plays a special role as adviser to the federal government. The government may ask the court to consider questions on (a) any important matter of law or fact, especially concerning the interpretation of the Constitution, and (b) the interpretation of any federal or provincial legislation or the powers of Parliament or the provincial legislatures or their respective governments.

See also:

Chart of Courts in Alberta